Archiving your older reading lists is a great way to keep a history of your reading lists while keeping your reading list environment neat and tidy. This article gives a brief overview of what archiving a list means in Talis Aspire Reading Lists.
What does archiving my reading list(s) do?
When you archive your reading list, it does the following actions:
- Unlinks the list from the hierarchy
- Hides the list from the search
- Disables editing of the list
- Clearly marks the list as "Archived"
- The list will no longer appear when using the List linking API
- Depending on integration method the list may no longer appear in your Learning Management System. Please check the following article for details learning management system integrations.
Can people still see the archived list?
The archived list is still accessible from a list report and to anyone with a direct link. The list is no longer attached to the hierarchy, and hidden from the main search, which means that browsing and searching will not find the archive list.
Can I unarchive a reading list?
Once a list has been marked as archived you can no longer edit the list. This means that the archive version is preserved. To "bring a list back" you will need to create a copy.
Can I delete an archived list?
You can delete an archived list, however once a list is deleted is can not be recovered.
Why can't I see the option to archive or delete my list?
If a list has an open "review" on it, the options to archive and delete will not be viewable in the edit menu. If you complete the review you will then see the options and be able to archive or delete the list.
If you have any problems or questions, please don't hesitate to raise a support ticket.