Archiving is typically used for lists where the time period has ended so you are no longer wanting to edit them. You can bulk archive at the point of rollover - this keeps an archived record of the list/s.
Finding and accessing archived lists
An archived list is no longer published and cannot be discovered via the search functionality.
Archived lists can be discovered and accessed by:
- the List Owner from their 'My Lists' area, and on the 'Lists' tab of their profile,
- those that have saved the list in their 'My Lists' area,
- those that have access to the All Lists report,
- anyone with a direct link to the list.
How to archive a list
You can archive an individual list by going to the list and, from the 'Edit' menu, selecting 'Archive'. A popup will appear asking you to confirm you want to archive the list and letting you know that once a list has been archived it cannot be made live again.
Who can archive a reading list?
Archive capability is only available to users with roles containing the permission to "Archive list". The option to Archive is not available if a list has an active review or if a list has never been published.
How can you tell if a list has been archived?
Archived lists will have an 'Archived' status label and a message letting you know it has been archived.
What actions are available on an archived list
The only actions available on an archived list are Copy and Delete.
What if I archive a list by mistake?
If you have archived a list by mistake, as said above, you aren't able to undo the archiving. Instead you can create a copy of the the archived list. This copy will be created in draft and is editable.
For other answers to frequently asked questions, see: Archiving a reading list FAQ